The continent of Europe has a total number of 44 countries, from which Schengen Map consists of 26 European countries that act as a single jurisdiction for travel purposes being a part of one border. They have officially ended the requirement of all passport and any other type of border protection or control at their mutual borders. It is the policy of the European Union and the Schengen Border countries have open boundary area.

The 26 countries falling under the Schengen Border Area are namely, Spain, Denmark, Italy, Sweden, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Finland, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Greece, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, and Switzerland. The Schengen Border has a population of 400 million.

The new travel regime introduced by the European Union will be effective on the Schengen Border. Meaning, if you are planning on visiting any of these countries anytime soon then it is suggested that you apply for the new authorization system. The new system of travel regulation is called ETIAS ( . ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System.

There are a total of 62 countries in the world that do not need a visa to enter the European countries that also include countries belonging to the Schengen Border Area. Since the whole area acts as a single jurisdiction for travel purposes, the latest visa-waiver system will be applied to all the 26 countries.

Etia Visa

ETIAS are only mandatory for the people who were earlier allowed to travel in these European Countries without having to acquire their visas. These countries include New Zealand, Australia, Canada, and the United States. But now Europe has a new travel authorization system for these citizens. The rest of the citizens will remain unaffected upon the launch of this new travel regulation. The travel procedure will be the same for them as earlier.

ETIAS is not a visa but a new visa waiver system that is going to be in action from 1st January 2021. The proposal has already passed in the month of November in 2018 but they will be applied from the beginning of 2021.

All the eligible people traveling in Europe will be needing ETIAS regardless of age. Meaning that minors (children below the age of 18) and old age people above the age of 70 will also have to apply for their individual visa. In order to apply for ETIAS, one must have a valid passport. Then you just have to go to the official website and fill out an application form asking for your basic details and that’s all.

ETIAS will permit you to stay in any of these European countries for a period of three months without having a visa. They can only be used to stay in these countries if you are visiting with the purpose of travel, business, transit or medical. However, you can not use your ETIAS to stay on the continent for job or education purposes.